Play with Clay

27 Mar

My eldest child hated to get dirty or wet when he was little. His preschool teachers cheered when he finally (after 2 years) ventured to touch the shaving cream sprayed on the table. My second child was the complete opposite. When outside toddling around we frequently had to pull her face out of the dirt. She wanted to see what it was like. Fearless. But one thing they both like… Play Clay! Any kid can play with this stuff, as long as they are old enough to keep things out of their mouth. And it is so easy and fun to make. Here’s the recipe I use (handed down from my mom)…

1 cup flour
1/2 cup salt
1 cup cold water
2 tablespoons cream of tartar
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
Food coloring

Combine ingredients in a saucepan. On low heat, continue to stir until firm, about 5-7 minutes. Add food coloring. Store in an air tight container. (I use freezer zipper bags).

We currently have a gross poop colored brown clay. But hey, I don’t pick the color. I think next time I might divide it up so that we can have a bunch of different colors.

Leave a comment