Home Schooling & Socialization

5 Mar

I’ve written about this before…

But it seems that it is still such an issue with people.

Most people that know us think it’s great that we home school our kids. But we’ve got a bit of an edge. Both my husband and I were former public school educators (and good ones, at that). So because our friends/family/acquaintances consider us “professionals” they excuse our decision to home school.

But the sad truth is, most kids could benefit from home schooling; and all parents are capable of home schooling (money and desire aside – I’m talking about cognitive ability here). But these parents that are so dissatisfied with their children’s public (and sometimes even private) school education will seldom look to home schooling as a viable alternative simply because of the stigma associated with it. The one’s that can afford private school send their kids there and justify it with – well, at least it’s better. Okay. Using that logic a runny nose is better than cancer. So let’s keep our runny noses and we won’t get cancer?

Sad story. Well, more pathetic than sad. I work part time at the “Barrel”. While sitting around waiting for a meeting to start we were talking about our kids. One of the ladies asked me where my kids go to school. “Oh, we home school.” Of course she wanted to know why. I couldn’t help myself. “Because my husband and I were both teachers, and we know what it’s really like in schools.” The stunned look on her face at that comment. Then of course this little snit of a girl had to pipe up. Now, keep in mind that she is maybe 19 years old and still lives with her parents. This and the fact that nobody likes working with her because her people skills are soooooooo bad. I was warned about her on my first day of work by no less than 3 different people. And people still come up to me to complain about her. Yes, THAT girl, sits straight up in her chair and declares that home schooling is bad because home schooled kids don’t know how to socialize with others. Everyone sitting around the table just stares at her. Then they turn away and start talking about something else. All I’ve got to say about that, is at least she proved my point, because nobody with any sense is going to listen to her rambling about the failings of home schooling.

But really, there are going to be people out there that think you are making a big mistake. You know you are not. You know that you are doing the best thing possible for your kids. And that’s all that matters. All these nay-sayers are not worth listening to because they don’t know, don’t understand, and worse yet, they don’t WANT to know and understand.

“All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident.”
~Arthur Schopenhauer, German philosopher (1788 – 1860)

We are on a journey to change modern education. This is just a small step to the final destination. Technically, we are still in the first stage. Although there are signs of violent opposition beginning to rear it’s ugly head. How committed am I to going the distance. Very. I’ll become a nomadic ex-pat if that’s what it takes. This is too important to sit passively by while my children suffer because of other peoples’ foolish decisions.

marvin.jpg

Leave a Reply

